Thursday, June 11, 2009

Poet C. D. Wright Captures 2009 Griffin Prize

As announced by the National Book Award:

C.D. Wright, a National Book Award Poetry judge in 2007, has won the 2009 Griffin Prize for International Poetry for her book of poems Rising, Falling, Hovering. Established in 2000 by industrialist Scott Griffin, the annual prize is worth $50,000. The jury chairman said Wright is a "work of harrowing power and genius" by "America's most original, daring, and scary poet."

John Ashbery's Notes from the Air: Selected Later Poems won the Griffin Prize in 2008. Ashbery, whose work spans five decades, is a four-time National Book Award Poetry Finalist. He won the Award in 1976 for his collection Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror, which also received a Pulitzer Prize that year.

More info on the Griffin Prize here.

No comments: