Sunday, January 01, 2012

Reed Farrel Coleman: HURT MACHINE, Best Cover of 2011

Dave's starting the new year enjoying a book that arrived here (signed) last month. Here's the scoop:

My favorite mystery book jacket of 2011 entered  the book world in December of 2011 and was published by Tyrus Books. It's Reed Farrel Coleman's book Hurt Machine: A Moe Praeger Mystery. I have read Reed Farrel Coleman's books for a number of years and I am devoted to the Moe Praeger series. Also I have listed from Coleman's website the number of awards and nominations he has received. Last week Coleman received a rave review in the Sunday New York Times from crime fiction reviewer Marilyn Stasio.

If you are a collector, Coleman's first three books are difficult to find in fine condition: 1. Life
Goes Sleeping, 2. Little Easter, 3. They Don't Play Stickball in Milwaukee.
Reed Farrel Coleman's books:
Hurt Machine
Innocent Monster
Empty Ever After
Soul Patch
The James Deans
Redemption Street
Walking the Perfect Square
The Fourth Victim
Hose Monkey
They Don't Play Stickball in Milwaukee
Little Easter
Life Goes Sleeping

Awards and Nominations
Tower (with Ken Bruen)
winner of Macavity - best novel
Anthony - best original paperback
Spinetingler Magazine Best Novel - Legends
Book of the Year - Foreward Reviews
Crimespree Magazine - Best Novel of 2009

Empty Ever After
winner of Shamus - best hardcover
Soul Patch
winner of Shamus - best hardcover
 also nominated for:
Edgar - best novel
Barry - best novel
Macavity - best novel
The James Deans
winner of Shamus - best paperback original
 winner of Barry - best paperback
 winner of Anthony - best paperback original
 also nominated for:
 Edgar - best paperback original
 Gumshoe - best mystery
 Macavity - best

No comments: