Monday, September 06, 2010

Hurrah! Garry Disher Scoops a Crime Fiction Award -- and Oh Drat!

Great news: Garry Disher's newest book of crime fiction, WYATT, won the prestigious Ned Kelly award in Australian fiction at the Melbourne Writers Festival this past weekend. Check out an interesting take on the book and award at Craig Sisterson's New Zealand "Crime Watch" blog.

And oh, drat, and double drat -- the book just isn't available (at any reasonable price) in the US at this point! Good moment to go back and read some of the others, like Blood Moon.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I have been a reader of Garry Disher's Crime Books and I am a fan of the Wyatt series that was published between 1991 and 1997 and the setting is Australia. The books are somewhat difficult to find in the states and I believe they are like the Richard Stark's/ Donald E. Westlake's Parker novels that I adore.
They are:
Kickback 1991
Paydirt 1992
Deathdeal 1993
Crosskill 1994
Port Vila Blues 1995
The Fallout 1997

Disher's second crime series is published by Soho Press in the states in both Hardcover and soft cover. Signed copies of both series are uncommon.

When I spoke to Garry Disher in Boston a couple of years ago he said that a new Wyatt was in the works and I can hardly wait. There are writers in the Mystery world who are under the radar screen and with the future release of the new Wyatt book collectors will flock to find copies of Disher's crime books.

Dave Kanell, Kingdom Books, Vermont